Asian players to face Carlsen & Co. at Goldmoney Asian Rapid


Four Indian players in the mix

The organizers of the Meltwater Champions Tour have decided to favor the presence of Asian players in the seventh stage of the series. Matches at the Goldmoney Asian Rapid will start four hours earlier than at the FTX Crypto Cup, meaning Indian players will start their matches at 4:30 p.m., while Chinese participants start theirs at 6:00 p.m.

A contingent of four Indian players will be featured, with Vidit, Adhiban, Gukesh and Arjun Erigaisi looking to do their best against Magnus Carlsen, Ding Liren, Levon Aronian, Anish Giri and Wesley So.

Top-rated Chinese player Ding will be joined by compatriot Hou Yifan, the strongest player in the world. Hou is currently working as a professor at the University of Shenzhen, but she has shown her strength sporadically since taking the post almost exactly a year ago – for example, the 27-year-old from Xinghua won so convincing the online tournament “Belt and Road”. in December of last year.

Goldmoney Fast Asian

While the previous stage of the event had FTX – a cryptocurrency exchange – as a partner, the seventh tournament in the series will work with Goldmoney. As stated in a press release from the Play Magnus Group, “Goldmoney is the easiest way for people to acquire physical gold and is the world’s most trusted precious metals trader with silver bullion, platinum and palladium online all available “.

Roy Sebag, CEO of Goldmoney, said:

Chess is a magnificent game which expresses the skill, free will and intelligence of human beings. It is a game with a rich tradition spanning at least hundreds of years.

Likewise, gold has a rich tradition as an element of great wonder which has served as the primary form of currency in human civilization for thousands of years.

The Goldmoney Asian Rapid will be broadcast live on Norwegian TV channel TV 2.

Goldmoney Rapid Asian 2021

The full range

  1. Magnus Carlsen – Ranking n ° 1 of the Tour
  2. Wesley So – Ranking Tour # 2
  3. Anish Giri – Classification of Tour # 4
  4. Levon Aronian – Ranking Tour # 7
  5. Alireza Firouzja – Ranking Wildcard / # 12 Round
  6. Vidit Gujrathi – Wildcard
  7. Ding Liren – Wildcard
  8. Jan-Krzysztof Duda – Wildcard
  9. Vladimir Artemiev – New invitation / Wildcard
  10. Saleh Salem – New Invitation / Wildcard
  11. Hou Yifan – New invitation / Wildcard
  12. Arjun Erigaisi – Indian Qualifier
  13. Adhiban Baskaran – Indian Qualifier
  14. Gukesh D – Gelfand Challenge
  15. Daniil Dubov – Premium Vote
  16. Peter Svidler – Premium Vote


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.