Crucial elections for the Speaker of the Assembly today

Vice President Narhari Zirwal served as interim president


BJP MP Rahul Narwekar was elected Speaker of the Maharashtra Assembly today with 164 votes. Shiv Sena lawmaker Rajan Salvi won 107 votes. The government led by Eknath Shinde will face the showdown in the Assembly on Monday.

The post of Speaker of the Assembly had been vacant since Nana Patole of Congress resigned in February 2021 to become President of her party’s State Unit. Vice President Narhari Zirwal served as interim president in the meantime.

Here are the LIVE updates on the Maharashtra crisis:

Get updates from NDTVEnable notifications for receive alerts as this story develops.

Sharad Pawar will hold a party meeting
NCP leader Sharad Pawar called a party meeting later in the day. Two topics for discussion – Trust Vote and the leader of the party that will be chosen as leader of the opposition: NCP leader Jayant Patil

Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and State Assembly Speaker Rahul Narwekar pose together for a photo
Maharashtra Assembly adjourned until 11 a.m. Monday
Congress criticizes Maharashtra governor

Congress leader and former Maharashtra minister Balasaheb Thorat on Sunday targeted Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari after the assembly speaker was elected, saying they have been calling for the same thing for some time, but it seems that “ the governor had been asleep for a year and a half”.

Chess champion Viswanathan Anand was asked about playing chess with Amit Shah, he refused to play with him because Amit Shah is a player who makes such moves which leaves players in a mess: the NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal

“Why so much fear”? Aaditya Thackeray Jibe on Shinde Camp Security
Shiv Sena leader Aaditya Thackeray on Sunday targeted the Eknath Shinde-led government over the strict security measures in place for rebel Shiv Sena MPs as they entered the Vidhan Bhavan premises from a luxury hotel neighbour. Read more
Maharashtra vote of no confidence: What today’s numbers say about tomorrow’s test
The election for Maharashtra president is seen as a semi-final before tomorrow’s vote when Eknath Shinde’s government will have to prove its majority. Read more

Devendra Fadnavis said that Rahul Narwekar is the youngest Assembly Speaker not only in Maharashtra but in the whole of India.

This BJP-Shiv Sena alliance government under the leadership of Eknath Shinde will try to fulfill all the aspirations of Maharashtra and we hope the President will cooperate for the same: Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis

BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis is a bigger person. He Sacrificed the Chief Minister’s Chair for Me: Eknath Shinde

The 50 deputies trusted a small karyakarta like me. I am a Shiv Sainik from Balasaheb Thackeray. New government will hopefully do justice to every MP who raises issues in their constituency: Chief Minister Eknath Shinde

Chief Minister Eknath Shinde addresses Maharashtra Assembly
Rahul Narwekar elected Speaker of Maharashtra Assembly

With 164 votes, BJP MP Rahul Narwekar was elected Speaker of the Maharashtra Assembly. Shiv Sena lawmaker Rajan Salvi won 107 votes.

All you need to know about the new Speaker of Maharashtra Assembly

Rahul Narvekar is a sitting BJP MP from Colaba constituency in Mumbai. He is the son-in-law of senior NCP leader Ramraje Naik-Nimbalkar.

He was a spokesperson for Shiv Sena’s youth wing in his early years. He left the party and joined the NCP in 2014. Rahul Narvekar contested the 2014 Lok Sabha elections of Maval, losing to Shrirang Appa Barne of the Shiv Sena.

He then joined the BJP in 2019.

Three deputies abstain from voting

The Samajwadi Party (SP) abstains from voting. His deputies Abu Azmi and Raees Shaikh remained seated during the count. AIMIM MP Shah Farukh Anwar also abstained from voting against BJP’s Narwekar.

Latest visuals of Maharashtra Assembly

Over 160 votes for BJP lawmaker Rahul Narvekar. Voting takes place by counting

Voting for the speaker position will be by head count

Vice President Narahari Zirwal has ordered a head count in support of BJP MP Rahul Narvekar.

BJP State Chairman Chandrakant Patil has proposed to elect Rahul Narwekar as President of Maharashtra

Both Shiv Sena factions, one led by Uddhav Thackeray and the other led by Eknath Shinde, issued whips asking MPs to vote for their respective presidential candidates.

Shiv Sena Chief Aaditya Thackeray calls on the state government to reconsider its decision on Aarey Forest
Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde arrives with rebel Shiv Sena MPs for Presidents elections.
Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and other BJP MPs arrive at the State Assembly in Mumbai.

Ahead of the two-day special session of the Maharashtra Assembly starting on Sunday, the Shiv Sena faction led by Chief Minister Eknath Shinde sealed off the legislative party office in the Vidhan Bhavan.

A white paper was taped to the closed doors of the Sena Legislative Party office in the Vidhan Bhavan, with a message in Marathi written on it saying, “The office is closed as instructed by the Shiv Sena Legislative Party.”

Comments are closed.