Manorama Sports Star 2020-21: Public voting begins | Sports News

The shortlisted nominees for Kerala’s biggest sports award – Manorama Sports Star 2020-21 – instituted by Malayala Manorama in association with Santa Monica Study Abroad, have been announced.

The six finalists selected by a panel of experts are: PR Sreejesh (hockey), Sanju Samson (cricket), S Soorya (volleyball), Sandra Babu (athletics), Nihal Sarin (chess) and KV Athulya (football).

The winner will be determined by online voting/SMS. Up to 10 lucky people who will take part in the selection process will each receive 10,000 rupees. SMS and online voting will be done in two phases. The sportsman with the maximum number of votes will receive the Manorama Sports Star 2020-21 award and a cash prize of Rs 3 lakh. The second and third prize winners will receive trophies and a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh and Rs 1 lakh respectively.

The final six contenders for the prestigious award were selected by a panel consisting of Olympian TC Yohannan, sports writer and analyst NS Madhavan and former cricketer and coach P Balachandran.

Commuter Ace HS Prannoy won the inaugural Manorama Sports Star Award in 2017. Athlete Jinson Johnson and Special Cricketer Aneesh P Rajan were the winners in 2018 and 2019 respectively.

Here is a brief recap of each finalist’s performance in 2020-21 and the format for voting:

1. PR Sreejesh: MSAAT

Sreejesh was part of the Indian men’s hockey team that won a bronze medal at the Tokyo Olympics to end the country’s 41-year wait for an Olympic medal in the domestic game. He won the prestigious 2021 World Games Athlete of the Year award and the FIH Player of the Year (2020-21) award for best male goalkeeper. Last year, the 33-year-old also won the Khel Ratna Award, India’s highest sporting honour.

2. Sanju Samson: MSA B

Sanju is the first Keralite to lead an Indian Premier League (IPL) side. He marked a century on his debut as captain of the Rajasthan Royals. The 27-year-old, who has had several opportunities to don the national colors over the past two years, was in excellent form at the one-day Vijay Hazare Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Championship tournament.

3. S. Soorya: MSA VS

Soorya was an integral part of the Kerala team which won many titles nationally over the past couple of years. The central blocker played a pivotal role when Kerala won the 2020 Federation Cup Volleyball Championship held in Rajasthan. She was a key member of the Kerala team that won back-to-back National Senior Volleyball Championship titles in 2020 and 2021.

4. Sandra Babu: MSA D

Sandra clinched gold in triple jump and silver in long jump at the Under 23 National Athletics Championship held in New Delhi in 2021. Representing Calicut University, she finished second from the triple jump at the 81st All India Inter-College Athletics Championship held at Moodbidri. In the third Khelo India Youth Games held in Guwahati in 2020, Sandra won bronze in the long jump. The 19-year-old also broke a 17-year record in the triple jump to win gold at the University of Calicut Athletic Meet.

5. Nihal Sarin: MSA E

Nihal won the Gazprom Brilliancy award for the best game of the 2020 Online Youth World Championships. In the past two years, he has become World Youth (U-18) Chess Champion, World Youth Chess Youth and Cadet Chess (U-18), and the Junior World Speed ​​Chess Championships. The 17-year-old was a member of the Indian team that won the Chess Olympiad gold medal jointly with Russia in 2020. In May 2020, he made headlines after beating the current champion of the Magnus Carlsen world in an online quick game.

6. KV Athulya: MSA F

Athulya is a female soccer star. A former Gokulam Kerala FC player, she currently plays for Ernakulam-based Don Bosco FA. The 26-year-old Kozhikode native was the backbone of Gokulam Kerala’s defense when they won the Indian Women’s League in 2020.

The SMS must be sent to 56767123 (charges apply) in the prescribed format. For example, if your choice is the first person in the list, the format should be MSAA. To vote online, log on to

Comments are closed.