Messenger: Ritviz Wins Chess Tournament

May 23, 2022 | 06:50 IST

Ritviz wins the chess tournament

MARGAO: Aspirant IM Ritviz Parab (2137) got the better of Sairaj Vernekar (1377) to win the 3rd Late Smt Premlata Omprakash Agarwal All Goa Open Rapid FIDE Rating Chess Tournament 2022 held at BPS Sports Club , Pajifond, Margao for the second time in succession. Ritviz pocketed a cash prize of Rs 10,000 in addition to a trophy.

Second prize was won by Vivaan Ballikar (1372) who beat top ranked bronze medalist Reuben Colaco (1441) and was richer by Rs 7000. Paarth Salvi (1354) beat Atharv Narayan to retain third place and a cash prize of Rs 5000.

A total of 145 players from various talukas participated in the tournament of which 55 were ranked players

The other rankings are as follows 4. Reuben Colaco 5. Mandar Lad. 6. Asmita Avjit Ray. 7. Nagvenkar Harsh 8. Tejas R. Shet Verenkar. 9. Sairaj Dilip Vernekar 10. Ruthvik Raiker.

Other Awards: Best Unranked Player – Jennica Sequeira; Best Veteran – Prakash Insulkar; Best Female Over 15 – Sanvi Naik Gaonkar; Best U-15 (boy) – Suyash Naik Gaonkar; Best U-15 (Girl) – Nidhi Gaude; Best U-13 (Boy) – Mahadev Sawant; Best U-13 (Girl) – Arya Dublay; Best U-11 (Boy) – Sairaj Narvenkar; Best U-11 (girl) – Saeeja Dessai; Best U-9 (boy) – Macaire Gomes; Best U-9 (girl) – Skyla Rodrigues; Best U-7 (Boy) – Aryan Naik; Best U-7 (girl) – Shreeya Bandodkar; Salcete First – Alex Sequeira; Salcete Second – Dur Telang; Salcete Third – Rishab Nipanikar

The head referee for the tournament was Ashesh Keni assisted by Asha Shirodkar and Avinash Malvankar. The prizes were distributed at the hands of the main guest Ashok Upadhay, guest of honor Rakesh Agarwal, Santosh George president of the BPS Club, Ashesh Keni president of the Chess Association of Salcete Taluka, Yogiraj Kamat secretary of the BPS Club, Ajit Shirodkar, Sunil Ballikar, Secretary of STCA. Damodar Zambaulikar, vice-president proposed a vote of thanks.

Comments are closed.