Nodirbek Abdusattorov wins El Llobregat Open in Barcelona

Before the final round, Nodirbek Abdusattorov was the only leader with 6.5 / 8. A draw against Jaime Santos Latasa in the last round was enough for the 17-year-old Grandmaster of Uzbekistan to share the top spot. In the chasing group, Murali Karthikeyan won in the ninth round against Tomas Sosa (Argentina) and Pere Garriga Cazorla won against Sethuraman SP (India) to tie with Abdusattorov.

Abdusattorov’s victory in the tournament was decisive against Eltaj Safarli of Azerbaijan in the eighth round.

The material is equal but White has the most active pieces and Black’s pawn at a6 is significantly weaker than White’s pawn at c4.

24.c4 Nc6 25.Rc3 a5 26.Td1 Kf8 27.Td6 White presses.

27 … Ne5 28.Td5 Ng4 29.Bg3 29.Bb6 !? Nxh2 30.Tdd7 Kf8 31.f3

29 … h5 30.Rxh5 30.Rdd7! Kf8 31.Bd6

30 … Re1 31.Tc7 Tc1 + 32.Rd4 Td1 + 33.Rc5 Rxc7 + 34.Bxc7 Nf6 Most active was 34 … Nxf2 35.Bxa5 Ne4 + 36.Rc6 g5

35.Rh3 Td2 36.Rf3

36 … a4? This breakthrough attempt will soon fail. Better was 36 … Ne4 + 37.Kb5 Nxf2 and Black can still fight for the draw.

37.Rb4 Tc2 38.Tf4 Nd7 39.Td4 Tb2 + 40.Rxa4 Nc5 + 41.Ka3 Tc2 42.Bb6 Ne6 43.Re4 Abdusattorov shows good technique.

43 … Rf8 44.Fe3 Ke8 45.Rb3 Te2 46.Re5 Rd7 47.Ra5 Rd6 48.h4 Te1 49.h5 f6 50.Rc3 Rh1 51.Rd3 Rh4 52.g3 Tg4

53.Ra6 + With a good idea: After 53 … Re7 54.Txe6 + Rxe6 55.Bf4 Noir’s tower is caught. White will follow with 56.f3 and stay one piece. 1–0

Behind the top three, eight players finished with 6.5 / 9. Four players made a grandmaster standard: Pere Garriga Cazorla (Spain), Mahammad Muradli (Aserbaijan), Thomas Beerdsen (Netherlands) and Aditya Mittal, 15, from India.

Kirk Ghazarian (USA), Theodor Kenneskog (Sweden), Samant Aditya (India), Beloslava Krasteva from Bulgaria made IM standards.

Deputy Mayor Eva Lopez and Vice-President of the Catalan Chess Federation Ramon Caro presented the prizes.

Guest of honor Anatoly Karpov also visited the editorial staff of La Vanguardia, one of Spain’s most widely read newspapers, and played a game with director Jordi Juan Raja.

Final ranking

1 Abdusattorov Nodirbek 7.0 49.0
2 Karthikeyan Murali 7.0 46.0
3 Garriga Cazorla Father 7.0 42.0
4 Erigaisi Arjun 6.5 47.5
5 Aditya mittal 6.5 47.5
6 Nikita Meshkovs 6.5 46.5
seven Yuffa Daniel 6.5 46.5
8 Muradli Mahammad 6.5 45.5
9 Santos Latasa Jaime 6.5 45.0
ten Puranik Abhimanyu 6.5 43.0
11 Van Forest Lucas 6.5 41.5
12 Sethuraman SP 6.0 48.0
13 Safarli Eltaj 6.0 47.5
14 Krzyzanowski Marcin 6.0 47.0
15 Thomas de Beerdsen 6.0 46.5
16 Sosa Tomas 6.0 44.5
17 Proud Alexandr 6.0 44.0
18 Fedorchuk Sergei A. 6.0 43.5
19 Ponomarov Ruslan 6.0 43.5
20 Visakh NR 6.0 43.5

157 players



Source link

Comments are closed.