Team Barry Wins Clorox Rising Stars, Cade Cunningham Named MVP

The mini-tournament format did not disappoint on All-Star Friday with Cade Cunningham and Team Barry defeating Team Isiah in the title match.

Championship final:
Team Barry 25, Team Isiah 20 | The score of the box

#1: Team Isiah 50, Team Worthy 49 | The score of the box
#2: Team Barry 50, Team Payton 48 | The score of the box

Most Valuable Player: Cade Cunningham, Piston

Rookies Cade Cunningham and Franz Wagner won the Clorox Rising Stars Finals at All-Star 2022, capping a 25-20 victory for Team Barry over Team Isiah. Cunningham drained a 3 run to give his team a 24-20 lead, and on the next possession he found Wagner on a stealth cut. Wagner was fouled and sank his first free throw to cap a 13-2 final run for Team Barry, who trailed 18-12.

Cunningham was named the Rising Stars MVP, tallying 18 points, seven rebounds, nine assists, two steals and two blocks in Team Barry’s two wins.

Rising Stars MVP Cade Cunningham scores 18 points in 2 games, helping Team Barry open the 2022 All-Star in style with a pair of thrilling wins.

It was the first year of a new Rising Stars format, with four seven-player teams – made up of 12 rookies, 12 sophomores and four players from the NBA G League Ignite team – playing in a three-game tournament. . The semi-finals were each played to 50 points, while the final was played to 25.

Team Isiah defeated Team Worthy, 50-49, in the first semi-final, with Memphis Grizzlies sophomore Desmond Bane winning the game at the free throw line a few possessions after Orlando Magic rookie Jalen Suggs passed up a chance to do the same for Team Worthy, who had returned from a 10 point deficit. Houston Rockets rookie Jalen Green led Team Worthy with 20 points, while Detroit Pistons Saddiq Bey and Isaiah Stewart combined for 26 points for Team Isiah.

Great Mic’d Up Moments from the Clorox Rising Stars games.

The second semi-final also went down to a next-basket situation, with Houston Rockets second-grader Jae’Sean Tate winning the game for Team Barry with a drive-in after Team Payton missed a pair of 3s back who would have won the game. Cunningham led Team Barry with 13 points, five rebounds and six assists, while No. 3 pick Evan Mobley added 13 points and eight boards. Minnesota Timberwolves sophomore Jaden McDaniels led the Payton team with 12 points.

the Clorox Rising Stars 2022 the rosters were announced following a player draft conducted by members of the 75th Anniversary Team and Rising Stars coaches Rick Barry, Gary Payton, Isiah Thomas and James Worthy.

–John Schuhman

Clorox Clutch Challenge

Tyrese Haliburton and Desmond Bane hit 5 historic NBA spot shots to win the Clorox Clutch Challenge.

Between the Semifinals and the Rising Stars Finals, Bane and Pacers guard Tyrese Haliburton won the Clorox Clutch Challenge, making the five different iconic shots in NBA playoff history in 39.1 seconds. While Bane missed his first three shots, Haliburton carried the two sophomores to the top four spots. But Bane connected on the pair’s first attempt from Damian Lillard’s spot and they beat the initial time set by Mobley and Thunder rookie Josh Giddey by more than 10 seconds.

Each team competed with a split ball and alternate shots so that no player would shoot twice in a row. Team 1 had 1 minute and 30 seconds (1:30 countdown) to take a shot from each of the five locations in any order. Team 1’s time was then Team 2’s scorer. If Team 1’s time was 1:15, then Team 2 had a 1:15 countdown to end the competition. Each team that set a new standard set the clock for the next competing team, and the fastest finisher will win the Clorox Clutch Challenge.

–John Schuhman

List of Clorox Rising Stars


Cade CunninghamDetroit Pistons
Dyson DanielsIgnite the G League
Evan MobleyCleveland Cavaliers
isaac okoroCleveland Cavaliers
Alperen SengunHouston Rockets
Jae’Sean TateHouston Rockets
Franz WagnerOrlando Magic


Precious AchiuwaToronto Raptors
Desmond ScourgeMemphis Grizzlies
Sadiq BeyDetroit Pistons
Anthony EdwardsMinnesota Timberwolves
Tyrese HaliburtonSacramento Kings
jade hardyIgnite the G League
Isaiah StewartDetroit Pistons


LaMelo ballCharlotte Hornet
Scottie BarnesToronto Raptors
Ayo DosunmuChicago Bulls
Chris DuarteIndiana Pacers (hurt, won’t play)
Scooter HendersonIgnite the G League
Bones HylandDenver nuggets (Injury replacement for Mitchell)
Jonathan KumingaGolden State Warriors (Injury replacement for Duarte)
Jaden McDanielsMinnesota Timberwolves
David MitchellSacramento Kings (hurt, won’t play)


Anthony ColeOrlando Magic
Mar Jon BeauchampIgnite the G League
Josh GiddeyOklahoma City Thunder
jalen greenHouston Rockets
Herbert JonesNew Orleans Pelicans
Tyrese MaxeyPhiladelphia 76ers
Jalen SuggOrlando Magic

Comments are closed.