Try Chess – Ridge Times

Chess is one of the oldest sports in the world, practiced by Europeans since at least the 15th century. It is played between two players, and the logical thinking required in chess has been positively linked to performance in math and music. Learning chess can be easy, and there is plenty of room for growth and fun in the sport.

The establishment
Chess is played on an eight-by-eight grid of alternating black and white squares. Two sets, one white and one black, of 16 pieces are arranged on the two back rows on opposite sides of the board. The pieces used are two rooks, two knights, two bishops, eight pawns, a queen and a king. Each player controls one of the two colors.

The basics
In chess, White always moves first. The players perform movements alternately. Chess is played until one of the players defeats his opponent, placing his opponent’s king under attack, and your opponent cannot legally protect their king. In general, chess pieces cannot move onto other pieces, either by being blocked by their own pieces or by being forced to capture an opposing piece.

The king
The king is both the most important and the most vulnerable piece on the board. The game of chess is won by putting your opponent’s king under attack, called checking the king, and there is no legal way for your opponent to stop the attack, a position called checkmate.

Kings can move one square in any direction, vertically, horizontally or diagonally. The king can capture an opponent’s piece in the same way as his normal moves. It is never legal for you to defeat your king.

the pawns
Pawns can only regularly move one space towards your opponent’s side on the board. There are two exceptions to the rule. Pawns cannot capture pieces directly in front of them, which actually means that a pawn must stop if there is anything in front of it.

The pawns capture diagonally one square forward on each side. The second exception is that a pawn is allowed to move two squares on its very first move, but this is optional because it can always move only one square.

A pawn that manages to reach the final rank on your opponent’s side is allowed to be promoted. This pawn becomes any piece of your choice allowing you to obtain additional major pieces.

The Knights
Knights are unique in the game of chess because they are the only pieces allowed to jump over yours and your opponent’s. The jumper moves in the shape of a capital L. The knight moves two squares in any vertical or horizontal direction, then moves one square to the left or right of their previous movement. The knights can take from your opponents the pieces which occupy the square on which it will end. Knights are not allowed to end up on the square of a piece of the same color.

Bishops are allowed to move any number of squares diagonally and only have to stop when they encounter a friendly piece occupying a square or capturing an opponent’s piece. Bishops can only move in a straight line. The bishop is allowed to stop after moving any number of squares. Due to the way bishops move, they will never occupy a square of the opposite color to the one it started on.

The towers can move any number of squares horizontally or vertically. Towers are only allowed to move in a straight line. Towers capture the same way they move.

The Queen
The queen combines the movement abilities of towers and bishops. She can move any number of squares diagonally, horizontally and vertically, always moving in a straight line. The queen is considered the most powerful chess piece.

Comments are closed.